When a person operates a motor vehicle while intoxicated due to alcohol and/or drugs and mistakenly or accidentally kills another, this is intoxicated manslaughter. In cases involving allegations of intoxication manslaughter, the state must take care to gather and preserve evidence of your alleged intoxication. If you are convicted of intoxicated manslaughter, you face revocation of your driving privileges, steep fines, restitution and time in jail.
Under Texas law, if an incident of DWI causes the death of another person, then the driver can be charged with a felony charge of intoxication manslaughter. Intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony in Texas. When a DWI results in death, then the prosecutors and judges are particularly harsh and unforgiving. Intoxication manslaughter is considered by both police and prosecutors to be such an extreme offense that they can often pursue the maximum punishments for alleged offenses. This includes:
• Two years minimum and up to 20 years maximum in the Texas State Penitentiary
• Up to a $10,000 fine
• 240 to 800 hours of community service
• A loss of driving privileges
• A permanent mark on criminal record
Intoxication manslaughter is a felony by law, and therefore may have significant consequences if convicted. It is within your rights, however, to hire an intoxicated manslaughter attorney to make sure that you are given the most favorable results allowed by the law.
Contact a San Antonio Vehicular Manslaughter Defense Lawyer
The firm offers initial consultations to anyone in need of defense from state or federal criminal charges. Contact us today at 210-224-5010.